As a follow-up…

As a follow-up to a recent post I wrote about breastfeeding while at an academic conference, I was pleasantly surprised to see this in my inbox today:

“amalgamating parental and work responsibilities in the workplace: one recommended reading”

Imagine my surprise when I read that New York (state) requires that designated pumping areas cannot be restrooms.

The fact that no-restroom-lactation rooms has to be legislated–AND that it is only legislated in one state–is an (imperfect) indicator of just how far we have to go. Hopefully, pieces such as the recommended reading (above) will facilitate awareness of how US society places stringent demands on newborn mothers’ bodies (you should really breastfeed for the entire first year….) while also making it extremely difficult for working newborn mothers to comply with these demands.

Leave a comment